Mission Flats - Eagles

On a grim, grey day,
it is a pleasure to find
eagles in action

~ carliewired

At 2 AM my security cameras at the front of my house caught a pair of deer in my front yard, a buck and a doe. I was sorry to see that the doe was limping. 

I was out rather late for me this morning. At 7 AM all looked grey, damp and ugly outside. I dawdled with my coffee until the last possible hour. I rolled down the hill just after 9 heading for Mission Flats. It was 4 C and a little damp. 

My first stop was at the Canadian Pacific Railway crossing where I got a view of my mountains looking across Rabbit Island. 

I drove on to a spot near the Domtar Mill as I'd spotted eagles out on the river. I parked on a wide shoulder so I could walk down onto the riverbed. Eagles were lined up near the farshore. There must have been something in the river that they were after. They would soar and call, then come down to the river again. 

I moved along to the tree near the end of the road where I often find eagles perched. Today was no exception. They were talking to each other. One had something in its talons and took off out of the tree with three eagles in pursuit. One of the trio managed to grab something out of its talons and they all squawked as in in triumph. 

I headed home with my take-out breakfast as I was expecting N to arrive this morning for more work on the bathrooms. A has arrived today, too. I'm making meatballs for lunch. 

We have a mainly cloudy day with a projected high of 9 C. We might expect some sunshine by the weekend. I am hopeful. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.