Unperturbed

A day with fog will
make one focus on the near
at hand - today, ducks! 

I was out the door at 7:30 looking for breakfast and photos. It was a mild 1 C. It had showered earlier so all was looking damp as well as foggy. No mountains could be seen save the bottom 100 feet. That's like looking under the toilet stall in a restroom! UGH!

I picked up my breakfast in Brocklehurst, then continued on to Vantage Point. It was hugely disappointing this morning. Too much fog to deal with so I moved to McArthur Island's south side. 

No marmots, deer or eagles today. The mallards owned the park this morning. When I pulled into the first parking lot, a pair of mallards rose up from the river and landed in the big puddle near my truck. I'd never considered a puddle to be a food source for ducks, but this pair got busy shoveling through the puddle for what could be found. People walked by on the path beside them and the ducks ignored them. 

I moved on to the far southeast corner of the park where I often find the 'parking lot ducks'. Only a few were there today. The river must have more to offer them. I looked over the bank to the river to see how low the water level is. There is a lot of riverbed exposed and the channel is narrow. I found a beautiful pair of mallards who were willing to pose for me. They meandered across to the path and back, paying no attention to the walkers going by. 

I was home by 9 and my daughter arrived shortly after to make a pot of tea. I'm home with chores and her kind assistance. 

The fog may hang around until midday. We can expect a high of 8 C with a chance of showers on this mainly cloudy day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.