Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

1905 Ordnance Survey Map Extract

I've always loved maps (I think that's why I was given the geography brief when the National Curriculum came out).  I excavated this one from Ann's attic yesterday when I was doing some more clearing out - mainly a question of shifting things around so I could hoover a bit more floor.  I chose this extract because of its connection with local coal mining, which would have been very much a feature of our landscape 120 years ago.  I'd been looking at this map online, so it was good to unearth it again.  I had them printed by Sheffield Libraries when I first came to live here.  I also found posters from the Kelvingrove Art Gallery which took me back a lot of years - we put one of them into a large clip frame - I found that too, but there were three more that have never seen the light of day in many years.  

I managed a couple more hours clearing dead foliage in the garden - I'm getting there, but finding it hard work at the moment - it is looking better.  Then a late afternoon long chat on zoom with Lyn about photography.  I also had some lovely feedback about my presentation to the RPS Contemporary North Group from Douglas May who has had an influential  voice in the RPS Contemporary Group over years past.

`I enjoyed Saturday afternoon despite the hitches.
Wendy North showed a very impressive body of work where she switched from the darkness and effort of producing the coal on the one side to the fruits of the wealth it created on the other.
Getting the mood right for the mining section was I think very difficult and she succeeded so effectively by the use of  consistent muted and dark colours along with  allegorical and not literal subjects combined with beautiful way she photographed the memorial and text. The contrast on the other side of the details of the classical elegance of the house got across the message the message she intended to convey.
I hope she manages to find a way of circulating this work widely.'



A seed of an idea might be developing

Underground

Husker Pit Memoral

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.