A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Bingley

A very mixed day starting with a damp and windy early walk. Still very enjoyable as we had double the number of ladies we had last week.

When I got home I FaceTimed with Grace, Eda and Jude. I was very touched as Eda said ‘ Granny I wish you lived next door and then I could see you all the time’ I was very touched.

Chris was off doing his luncheon club so I went down into Bingley to try to sort out my train seats yet again. Success I’m delighted to report so I treat myself to a coffee at The Loft cafe.

When I came out I took a closer look at these new banners along the road by the market square. I’d spotted one form the car the other day.  The first one, top left has the Damart chimney and the stylised bridges created to cross the bypass and the railway.  There’s also a nod to the five rise locks. To be honest I don’t know what the bottom bit is about! 
The picture below is again the famous 5 rise locks. Top right is the Leeds Liverpool canal, on which the locks are found and the River Aire which both pass through the town. 
Bottom right is an Airedale terrier bred here.  They are positioned on Main Street with flags strung in between making a very loud noise flapping in today’s wind.

In the afternoon we went over to Ilkley and the weather had turned distinctly cold, a coat colder as we would say here. Took some books to the Oxfam book shop and was pleased to see the pretty blossom was still out on The Grove.

We had something to eat and then went on to the cinema to see Ali and Ava. Another Screen Yorkshire production filmed in Bradford. The lead roles being played by well known TV faces/actors. I enjoyed it though perhaps the scenario for a romance was a bit unlikely in the circumstances. 

Nearly Friday again and another busy day to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.