Capital adventures

By marchmont

Cranes

Up and out early to feed the fat furball (poor Alfie) before I had to pay for parking.  It meant I was in the pool just after 7.10 and out after 62 minutes before 8.15.  And of course we could all see each others faces, properly.  First 'no mask' day since spring 2020.  Not that masks were ever need at the Leisure Centre since there was hardly ever anyone else in the entrance area when you went in and out.  But I always complied!

It went down hill after that.  I dissipated the morning faffing around on the laptpop.  This is becoming an addiction.  It was windy and a wee bit chilly outside. Bizarrely on the days masks became optional for the first time I ordered FFP2 masks.  I'm thinking I may need them travelling and because I have 3 theatre visits plus other things out and about over the next few weeks and I don't want to risk putting my KL visit at risk. I'm also thinking about another holiday in September but I'm finding it difficult to find the time.  Events of which I am not in control are in my diary and cut through the available time. 

Eventually I stirred myself and went to the Garden Centre.  I'd say mask wearing was less than 50% and of course most of the time I was outside taking ages to decide on which plants to buy, not for me you understand. I was on a mission to get plants for Mum's balcony.  I did but a few bits and bobs for me though - mainly seeds. 

On the way down Kirk Brae I was stopped long enough to blip the cranes 
working on the new student flats.  Looks like it will be a while before they are finished and the road open.  And they are going to be high - two stairwells are well under construction. 

I took so long at Mortonhall that it was well into the afternoon before I got to the Manor.  Last year's pelargoniums had survived as had some dianthus but everything else was a shrivelled mess.   The balcony was also a mess by the time I finished but the plants looked better. I'll be back on Wednesday.

Home, it was a beautiful evening, warmer than predicted.  I planted the seeds and the dahlias bought earlier and put the veg that has to be frost protected in the back room.  

Later I sat in the front for tea and watched the last episode of the Maxwell family story.  Truly chilling.  Found I was tired after my early start.  And I have a list of things to do.  Tomorrow?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.