A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

City Hall

I don’t go into Bradford very often, sometimes I go in to Waterstones which is housed in the beautiful old Wool Exchange and I always stop to admire the beautiful City Hall. 
It is seen here across the road with the city park in front if it as I was on my way to another great Bradford building, the Alhambra Theatre.

I was heading to the theatre to go to today’s matinee performance of The Lion King. No I have never seen it and today was the day at last! 
We often went to London with friends for the rugby Challenge Cup but no one wanted to see it when I suggested it;  my daughter takes groups of students as it has had several seasons in Bristol and last month took Eda;  and my friend has seen it twice in London! So I decided the only way was to go on my own - Billy no mates!
The show should have been on here in the summer of 2020 but of course the pandemic got in the way. The couple next to me had got their tickets for Christmas 2919. When it was re advertised I managed to get a single seat in the stalls. A great spectacle with wonderful costumes and dances. I loved the birds  at the start of Act 2. I’ve even treat myself to a fridge magnet as it feels as though I’ve finally made it after a long wait!

I chose the City Hall shot as I like the light around the clock tower which was  modelled on the bell tower in the Palazzo Vecchio in Florence.
I expected it to be raining when I came out but it was warm and sunny, raincoat carried for no purpose. Hope the weather has turned the corner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.