Capital adventures

By marchmont

Toon tourist

I can't v day I had a good night's sleep, on the bed settee, in the playroom, but I survived.

This morning I was a tourist. First 3 miles south to the Angel of the North, oft seen from the train, then 3 miles north to the Baltic. The outside viewing gallery was closed but the views from the 5th floor were an acceptable substitute. 

Not only the bridge but the opposite quayside reminded me of Darling Harbour. I had a coffee and a scone and the headed home in time to go out to Saltwell Park, a 15 minute walk.

It was hot and sunny. There was a food fair on and we queued for waygu burgers and later ice cream. H didn't stay. A needed a nap. Her life is bounded by her children's nap and bedtimes. Not how I brought up my kids.

Later we sat in the garden and F played with his cars. I sewed. We ate outside, though quite early, given the late burgers. 

Saltwell Park is lovely and it's been a v sunny day. I bought a couple of things for the girls in the Baltic shop. Felt good to be able to do that after two years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.