Up to the Lake

After a big storm
the day is fresh and sparkly
with sun and blue sky

~ carliewired

I was up at 4:30 on my deck surveying what little I could see. Our big thunderstorm of yesterday left an abundance of cloud that settled tight over the valleys. I could not see past the top of my cedar hedge. The city had disappeared in fog with just the haziest light coming through. I gave up and went back to bed with very low expectations for today's photos. 

Imagine my surprise when I woke to glorious sunshine just before 8 AM. I got myself out the door immediately. I stopped for a quick breakfast enroute and headed up the Paul Lake Road in full sun. 

At my first stop I got a closer look at Mt. Peter than I get from my house. The next stop was a better look at eagles in two dead pine trees that sat side by side. Several eagles perched in these trees. I parked and walked back along the road to get some shots of them. There was a great deal of conversation going on between the eagles. I wish I spoke their language. 

I drove further up the road to Schedam Flats where I can usually find horses pasturing. There were several little herds clustered along the edge of the trees. I could see several foals in the mix. It was breakfast time for some of them. 

I drove on to the community of Paul Lake and parked across from the community mailboxes. The lake glistened in the sun. The water was calm but the outflow into the creek was fast and furious. I could imagine having my morning coffee on the dock where two chairs sat empty. 

I took a short walk along the north edge of the lake. The bright yellow balsamroot was extraordinary. It covered the slopes in all directions and was spread up into the pine trees. Our cold, wet spring has encouraged this amazing display. It is so abundant and so late in the season. 

I zoomed home in my little red bomber where I'll spend my day getting ready for another road trip with my daughter. 

We have a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 21 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.