carliewired

By carliewired

87 F/ 31 C

The rolling hills of
farms and ranches appeal to
me in all weather

~carliewired

Being Sunday, I opted for a leisurely drive over Rose Hill Road. I was backing the car out of the garage  at 7:30 when I spotted four jittery chukars crossing the cul de sac. I edged very quietly up the slope to catch them, but I was only successful with one. They quickly disappeared into a neighbour's backyard. 

I drove on across the bridge and up the hill to the Merritt Highway to take the turn off to Rose Hill. 

I made stops for landscape shots. I love looking across the rolling hills to see ranches and farms stretched out in all directions. All is very green right now before the heat of Kamloops really starts to sizzle. 

My surprise today was the large expanse of lupines blooming on the southern slopes. It makes an impressive show against the green. 

On the downhill side of the summit I came to Rose Hill Ridge, a real estate development that's been on the go for 3 or 4 years. I believe that a ranch was bought out to create this housing development. The roads and services are all laid out now so I drove in to have a look at the views.
I would very much enjoy a view lot there. It's a very different look at my mountains. I think one would want a 4 wheel drive to get back and forth to town. There's a lot of hill to climb to get back to the house! (even though it's all paved)

If you have a minute to spare, here's the promotional video for the development. Rose Hill Ridge 

I'm in with my feet up for the day. There's a batch of quilted hearts that need finishing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.