Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

A pheasant fluttering by

Today I went up to Magdalen Hill, determined to blip a butterfly.  This was the nearest I got.  Oh well, he's bright at least!  And faintly ridiculous.  What a squawking racket he was making.  His lady was there, looking much more discreet, and an almost adult male too.

And I did see quite a number of butterflies, mostly meadow browns and marbled whites and the odd skipper or two.  Admittedly the wind was more than they can have enjoyed, so I have made a promise to go up again soon.

Meanwhile the wildflowers are wonderful: vetches purple and yellow, pale pink mallows, still the purple meadow cranesbill, rosebay willowherb, yellow rattle near the end of its flowering season, sainfoin, a huge scattering of pyramidal orchids, buttercups, harebells and an enchanting little pink flower which needs blipping with my other camera and which I'm pretty sure common centuary.  Never noticed it before.

Oh, and one more piece of excitment. I've ordered the buddleia which is to form the centrepiece of this little bit of garden I'm redoing.  It's quite dark purple (pretty) and although it grows medium tall it is columnar rather than spreading so hopefully won't take over.  The whole idea is to continue making my garden more wildlife friendly - I'm very much hoping it will attract more butterflies and bees.

Happy Wednesday evening/ Thursday morning  xx


WFW22_12  - RESULTS


HEARTS this week go to:
DawnP
Stiffknees
NickyR
Maureen6002
Tweedy

and Honorable Mentions to:

AlmondBlossom
frani
ThingsBeautiful
MollyG
Freespiral
Clazel

and my thanks to you all..

A reminder: WFW22_13 opened for business on Sunday 26th June and continues until midnight Saturday 2nd July

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.