Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Evening illuminations

These are dessert gooseberries in Margret's (next door) fruit garden.

I went this evening to pick more blackcurrants. The visitors who came to help this afternoon have done a fine job of stripping some of the bushes, but there were still plenty left.

It was very peaceful in the garden and the goosegogs seemed to shed a light as the sun went down.

Earlier I made black currant muffins. Not a great success. The recipe said to cook for 35 minutes, but mine were crusty after 15 and not quite cooked inside. They will do for pudding with custard!

I popped to Hexham this afternoon. I had a loaf of bread to return to Waitrose because is had a nasty brown something or other in the centre of the loaf. I declined to have a replacement!

Then to the other Marjorie's. Her friend Nora was there. What great conversation, although we did get on to the NHS and the problems locally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.