A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

All a buzz ..

for my 4,500th blip!

Feeling much better after a good night’s sleep though a bit iffy after my breakfast, first meal for two days, but thankfully we were able to go go on our planned day out to RHS Bridgwater, Salford today.

We are members so get in free but they do ask you to book.
We’ve really enjoyed it. The Weston Walled garden has some magnificent planting, many very tall blooms and lots of which were literally a buzz with bees.

I was inclined to go for the Agapanthus in huge tubs by the lily pond in the Paradise Garden. Lovely of course and I liked the water rill leading to it, these tall pink spikes near the entrance  are full of bees. Another pink flower nearby had nine insects on it.

Not many butterflies even in the butterfly garden, sadly, but good to see the bees. Certainly more than 4,500 bees here today.

Behind the walled garden there was a test area for Hydrangea Paniculata plants with some magnificent large blooms.

So hard to choose but will do a Flickr link later. (Now made a collage of my favourites which I am happier with but was trying to avoid doing))

We moved on through the woods to Lake Ellesmere where the house of Lord Ellesmere used to stand before its demolition in 1947. Back across the Victoria Meadow, named for Queen Victoria’s visits arriving by the nearby Bridgewater canal, to the Chinese Stream side garden.

Most enjoyable and very different to our nearby Harlow Carr gardens owned by the RHS.

So 4,500 blips, if I didn’t enjoy it I wouldn’t still be doing it!
Many thanks for following my journal and for your kind comments.

Shame I wasn’t at the palace today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.