Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Yellow on black

Very local shots today.  Yes, I didn't wake earlier enough to beat the heat.  However, when I went out for a short amble round the reserve and the Nuns Stream it became completely clear I should blip some of the top flower, Common Fleabane (Pulicaria dysenterica), which is everywhere near the water courses.  I was thinking of pairing it with hawkweed, which seemed the other obvious yellow wildflower of the moment, but then saw a couple of rather happy-looking dandelions (Taraxacum Vulgaria) down by the stream-edge kind of glowing in the flickering shade.  Good!  The only other dandelions I've seen today have looked remarkable ratty!

So - a lot of this is to say that shortly I will be posting results here of WFW22_18 (now see below).  We are now, of course, onto WFW22_19 until midnight Saturday 13th.  Also - and this may be just down to the heat - I'm wondering how long to continue WFW22.  Possibly only until the end of August - *tears* - as the dry and the heat are rather pushing the poor wildflowers into oblivion.  Well, we'll see.  Let me know what you think..

And have a lovely evening  xx

Results of WFW22_18
HEARTS this week go to:
FrankS
Mole
Kimb
PaiviPuu
Kersko

Hon Mentions to:
frani
steveng
PeteWpics
Energia
Freespiral
Pleach

and my thanks to you all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.