Riverside's West Side

Just a tinge of smoke
coloured the eastern sky at
sunrise this morning

~carliewired

I was up at 4 and out on the deck for my first photo of the day at 5:30. I left the house at 6:30 to have a look at Riverside Park. 

I parked by the Uji Garden to walk up the ramp towards the Overlander Bridge. It was a cool shady walk to the midpoint. I could get a shot of the sunrise behind my mountains and a look at the survivor tree in the channel and the confluence where sandbars are emerging. I found the south shore marmots on the 'castle'. They were quiet and still but watching everything carefully. 

Walking back down into the park, I noticed someone was bedded down by the Uji Garden. We have a homeless problem. The city has just received almost $2 million dollars to assist with that. I have no idea what they have planned. It will be interesting to find out. 

The Uji Garden itself is still behind construction fencing. I find the city's care of Riverside Park to be questionable. The renovation is still not complete and there are parts of the park unavailable to the taxpayers. City administration has a lot to account for. 

I took a short walk around the Community Garden at the edge of Riverside Park. It's one of several within the city limits. Now, at the end of summer, the garden is looking very interesting. People have all sorts of produce in their small allotments. The garden is well tended. The city provides the water and the fencing. I enjoyed seeing the sunflowers greeting the morning sun. 

I was back at home by 7:30 with my breakfast. I might just roll back into to bed as I was awake far too early. No great plans for my day. 

We have a day of mixed sun and cloud and a high of 32 C expected. We might receive some showers late in the day with a risk of a thunderstorm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.