Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Stan in Humshaugh

I don't know how long Stan has lived in the village, but he was here when we arrived. I often see him walking up and down the main street. He told me tonight that he does not like to be cooped up inside and he comes out 2 or 3 times a day.

He will be 90 next year. When I said that he looks a lot younger, he laughed and told me that he has always looked young. When he was in the army on Salisbury Plain, he went into a pub one evening and the barman refused to serve him "because he said I was too young". Stan produced his army pay book from his pocket to prove his age.

He always has time for a chat, but he did not remember who I was tonight.

I have been very busy at home today. I was going to go for a walk with Dennis, but he has a sore leg after doing too much in the garden yesterday. Instead, I made more courgette and carrot soup. I've edited more photos for the Bellingham Show and enjoyed reliving the day.

This afternoon, we met Samantha, who is going to come and do some caring here. We liked her immediately and we have a lot in common. 

Before she left, Liz arrived, then Margret (next door). She had us intrigued with her account of how a village bench has disappeared. It was in memory of one of our neighbours. Neither Liz nor I can remember it at all. It is a mystery that needs solving. Who stole the bench?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.