Last Day of Summer

Say hello to socks
and shoes, fleece jackets, early
sunsets, fall colours...

~carliewired

My first shot of the day was of my mountains at 7 AM. I didn't realize how chilly it was until I stepped out of my car by Riverside Park. A cool 5 C reminded me that summer is over. 

I looked past the parking lot to the Overlander Bridge. It is great to see the construction fencing gradually disappearing. I was a bit surprised to see a row of portable toilets decorating the edge of the park. I'm not understanding why they are there. It could have something to do with the homeless in the area.

Our city elections are coming up in mid October. The big issue is the homeless. I know there are no simple answers. I see evidence of the concerns everywhere. Today, there was an abandoned grocery cart heavily laden by the Rivers Trail. 

The vegetation by the railway bridge holds the fruit of the season. The dogwood has produced white berries. The wild roses have turned into rose hips. 

I looked across the river to see mist rising up. One lonely pigeon sat on the railway bridge all puffed up to keep warm. 

I did my little tour of duty and headed off to collect some groceries and my breakfast. I was back home just after 8. I'm in for the day as the flooring installer is already working. I really want my bedroom back. 

We can look forward to another beautiful sunny day with a high of 24 C. The air quality remains at "low risk". 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.