First Day of Autumn

A day starting with
a bit of haze, a chance of
showers - but all good! 

~carliewired

I was out the door after 7, late for me. The flooring installer was already in the driveway finishing his morning coffee when I was backing out. I waved and was off to Mission Flats. 

The drive onto Mission Flats is always a happy moment for me. I leave the bustle of traffic and drive into a quiet, park-like area along the river. 

This morning I almost missed the deer. I was driving along at a clip and not paying close attention to the roadside. Suddenly, there were three deer browsing the vegetation partially tucked away from the road. It was those big ears that caught my eye! I drove past, pulled onto the shoulder and quietly got out with my camera. They peeked out at me curiously but stood still. I got a few shots before a large truck approached which rattled their confidence. They darted. One went across the road and jumped the fence. The others dove into the bushes. I waited for the loud truck to pass, then watched to see them emerge to their original spot. 

I drove on to the end of the road to have a look out to the delta. Reflections in the river are really lovely this time of year. Weeds and grasses have dried and lost all their green.  I looked across the river to the airport with a bank of blooming sagebrush in the foreground. 

My last stop on the return home was a look across the river at my mountains. The high clouds could yield some showers later. 

I picked up groceries and my breakfast before heading home. I'm in for the day. I was grateful to get my bedroom back yesterday, but there's still much to do with the flooring. He won't be done today!

We have a day with increasing cloudiness and a chance of showers this afternoon. We might expect a high of 19 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.