Deer and Coyotes - Rose Hill Road

It is a time to 
see so many four-leggers
on the fall landscape

~carliewired

It started as a grey day at 7:30. I was off to my favourite drive  on Rose Hill Road on the southeast side of the city. 

I took a series of shots looking over the Trans-Canada Highway to the downtown so I could make a panorama. I caught Mt. Paul in the right corner. 

I moved further up the road to hayfields above the latest subdivision development. A deer crossed the road ahead of me and bounded over the fence. She looked back and me, then proceeded along the hillside. I looked back to the area she'd come from to see another doe near the trees. She seemed to be deciding what she should do next. Should she follow her friend or head into the trees. I drove on to leave her in peace. 

In the next hayfield another doe was standing still looking all around. I caught her profile against the trees. 

I drove on to the area near the pond where I caught sight of a coyote crossing the road just ahead of me. He jumped up the bank and through the grasses into a hayfield. I popped out of my car and up the slope to catch him trotting along the crest of the hill. I got just one shot. Lucky!

I reached the summit of the road and started down the southern slope. I found one deer in a field with a No Hunting sign in the foreground. I thought that made a good shot. Further above in the same large field, two coyotes were hunting. They were proceeding slowly over the stubble looking and listening. 

In the next field I found a deer nestled down in the grass. I got one photo before a very loud motorcycle came down the hill and frightened her. She leaped up and disappeared into the trees. 

As I neared the end of the road I encountered a lady with her dog. I've met them before on this portion of the road. She jogged across a hayfield with her dog. She must live on one of the ranches nearby. 

My last shot was of the winding piece of the road leading back to the highway. The sun was beginning to appear and I could see some blue sky. 

I picked up my breakfast and headed home. The flooring installer was back to work for just the morning. I'm home working on a quilt today.

We have a mainly sunny day with a high of 23 C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.