Around the Pier - Riverside

It's another  crisp
fall morning with the promise
of a sunny day

I was late getting out this morning. It was 8:30 by the time I was parked in Riverside Park and walking to the pier. It was a cool 10 C but the sky was bright and the air was calm.

I walked the short distance from the Uji Garden to the pier noting the changes made in this area since construction began last winter. The walkway has been moved some 20 feet+ away from the riverbank. The small playground by the tennis courts is gone completely. It must be assumed that all children's activities will be near the waterpark. (whenever THAT gets completed) The pier has new railings and a brick finish in front of it. It all looks rather nice. 

I walked onto the pier to get a shot of my mountains, the Overlander Bridge and the foreshore looking to the railway bridge. The river is low now with a great deal of sandbar and beach showing. It was a very quiet, calm morning until I heard a large bang from the west end of the city. I listened for sounds of sirens, but nothing followed. 

There were ducks on the foreshore and gulls on the far shore. Not much bird life in evidence this morning. 

I made a brief stop at the rose garden near the tennis courts. I was pleasantly surprised to find the roses in such good condition for so late in the year. 

I picked up breakfast and the essential extra-large coffee and was on my way home. I have a small quilt top I hope to complete today. Must get cracking! 

My thoughts are with our Maritime provinces today. They have received the full force of Hurricane Fiona and the damage is extensive. KathyH58 from Nova Scotia is certainly on my mind today as I hear about what her area has suffered. Wishing her health and safety in these tough times. 

We're looking forward to a sunny day with a high of 27 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.