The Burn - Monte Lake

Evidence of much
destruction to be viewed and
fall colours enjoyed

~ carliewired

The day looked promising when I got up at 6. I decided to go have a look at Monte Lake as I haven't been there since the fire in early August. The White Rock Lake wildfire tore through there destroying 28 homes and one commercial structure. It's a place I've often enjoyed. I was just afraid what I'd see. 

I stopped on the north side of the lake to take in how much forest was taken in the fire. I really couldn't look at the burned buildings. I could see how the power lines were down beside the highway. Some of the poles were burned. I was pleased to see people still using the lake for fishing and camping. I caught a grebe enjoying the lake and several fishing boats out on the water, too. Trees around the lake have remained and are now in bright fall colours. The reflections in the water are really beautiful at this time of year.  

The small community of Monte Lake is not satisfied with how the BC Wildfire Service handled the wildfire in their area. They felt they were abandoned and that delays in response cost them their homes. 

On the national front, our two Michaels, Michael Kovrig and Michael Spavor, have been released from prison in China after over 1000 days. Despite charges of spying, these Canadian businessmen were really held hostage while a higly placed business executive, Meng Wanzhou, fought extradition to the US after being held in Canada since December 2018. She enjoyed house arrest in comfort, while our Canadians endured prison conditions. Magically, she reached an agreement with the US and has now returned to China this weekend. 

Previous visit to Monte Lake -  https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2850503335251804950

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.