COLOURS IN THE METROCENTRE

As it was a cold dull day I headed for the Metrocentre to do some shopping.  Got the yoghurt I wanted in Marks and Spencers.  As well as a few other items I bought a pack of tomatoes which I opened when I got home .  They were awful.  Tasteless and too soft - obviously past their best ( some were so mushy I had to throw them out ) The box they came in proudly stated " BEST OF THE CROP".  Well if these were the best I dread to think what the rest of the crop were like.  Anyway I was so annoyed I've written a complaining e mail to M & S.

I had a nice wander round the malls which weren't very busy.  My panoramic blip shot is for the Wide Wednesday challenge - the theme is " colourful".  These painted panels definitely fit the bill.  Some of them have Geordie  words on them - " Howay Man ", " Alreet Pet"  and " Take It Easy Pet".  Behind the panels is one of the many empty shops in the centre. Thanks to steveng for hosting the challenge this week.

I took another shot which I almost used as my blip and Ive added it as an Extra.  This part of the centre has numerous empty small shops so various beach themed paintings have appeared to brighten the area up.

I stayed at the Metrocentre a bit longer than I normally would as I didn't want to get home too early.  I had signed up with EON to take part in an energy saving  event. ( The Energy Shift Scheme )  You get 24 hrs warning of an hour where you have to try and reduce your energy usage. The hour I was given was today between 5.30pm and 6.30pm.  I got home around 6.20pm so I didn't put any lights on.. I had a battery operated lantern handy by the front door.  No heating on either. I just sat on the sofa and checked my e mails etc on my phone until the deadline had passed. So Im sure I hit my reduction target which was to use 40% less energy. If I did then my " reward " will be 26p credit on my next bill.  So that's not a real incentive - I just wanted to see if it was easy to use less energy if you give it a try.  My next " shift " is tomorrow between 5pm and 6pm but I haven't signed up to take part in that one as I will be at home for most of that hour and will definitely be using heating etc. 

Steps today - 9,491

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.