Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

More blackwork

You did not see any blackwork last night and I thought you might be interested in the technique. Here is a butterfly designed and stitched by Mum some years ago.

Blackwork, also known as Spanish blackwork, originated in Tudor England. It is traditionally done with black threads on white cloth, although other colours have been used.

We have this on the wall of Mum's lounge.

I was a hairdresser this morning, then potted up and watered a few of the amaryllis plants. They are more than ready to shoot away and I hope the long rest this year has not been detrimental. Two have already shown green shoots within 5 hours of being potted. How exciting.

I watched The Suspect on ITV and enjoyed it. My only gripe is that the main character, a psychologist, trained at medical school. No he didn't! However, that was a minor flaw in a gripping (and unlikely) tale.

This should have been posted yesterday but I did not notice the time on the camera when I made the image late at night.............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.