Blipmeet

no, not this group, THIS group.

The day had started out beautifully sunny, lulling us into a false sense of security as by late afternoon it was raining. The blipmeet plan was to meet at the Water of Leith Visitor Centre and walk along the Canal to the Caley Tasting Room. As I sat on the#35 passing the pub I had a feeling I should get off but no I continued, met up with 3 blippers and Cabot the dog and walked, in the steady drizzle, along the Canal. Despite growing up in Edinburgh I'd never done that walk before and very pleasant it is giving new aspects of the city and interesting views of the back gardens. And there quite a few kayakers out on the Canal too. Despite the drizzle, and the cold, it reminded me, slightly, of the Canal du Midi, something Edinburgh has in common with Toulouse. But I was very glad to get inside in the pub.

Our merry band grew and it was a huge surprise when not seeing straight arrived. We've worked, for different organisations, in the same floor of the same building for over a year and I never realised he was a blipper, starting one day after me. That's the great thing about blipmeets, you never know who you are going to meet.

It was a very enjoyable evening and after some food and a couple of glasses of Carignan it was back out in the cold for the bus home. Quite late for a school night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.