An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

All done...

Now I can categorically say the wrapping is ALL done!

Day started with a call to the health centre at 8am as we were a little concerned that Alan's never ending cold has gone into his chest.  Phoning as a precaution really as if it has, he will worsen over the next couple of days and with the health centre closed till Wednesday,  trying to get him seen and get access to an antibiotic would be a nightmare.

D spoke to one of the lovely GP's who recognises we know Alan best and will know if he definitely needs an antibiotic (meaning we won't just give it to him for the sake of it) he issued a prescription for us to collect in the afternoon, which we can make up if we need it.  So thankful that we have such an understanding GP practice.  

Tesco delivery arrived with my big food shop.  There were a couple of items substituted but sensible substitutions so that was ok, and I was relieved that the only item they didn't deliver was cranberry juice.  I can get that locally.  

I always give the delivery driver who brings the big shop a tub of chocolates and when D took the empty boxes back outside and handed the driver a tub of Celebrations, he was apparently genuinely touched.  A few years ago (pre-covid ) when I handed the driver the chocs he looked shocked then gave me a massive hug.  It made me sad that he felt so under appreciated.  He said I wouldn't believe the abuse some of the delivery drivers get for things that are not their fault. 

Poor D's golf was cancelled due to the weather.  I laughed as he got all his thermal and waterproof gear on to take Lola for her morning walk, moaning about the rain.  Doesn't bother him on the golf course!  :-))

After lunch I wrapped the last of the gifts.  Alan has been obsessed with Tess Daly since he was six years old (to look at not to listen to.  Not interested in watching her on Strictly! lol) so since his bedroom is all newly decorated, as part of his Christmas we've bought him four new photos of Tess and this afternoon I finally got them framed and wrapped.  I also wrapped Ele's final birthday gift, a beautiful pendant on a long silver chain made by my best friend Agnes.  I absolutely love it. I am so lucky to have a best friend who makes jewellery :-)

Alan's support worker Ashleigh arrived with a large hamper full of goodies for David and me, from Alan's team.  We are so touched.  She advised us to open it as some of the goodies had to be refrigerated.  Oh my, so many delicious treats!  We may start on some of them tomorrow!  

Completed my online shopping list for the big hogmanay shop and D handed in the order form for the steak pies and the breakfast goodies for new year's day, to our local butcher.  He will collect the beef tenderloin for Christmas Day from the same butcher tomorrow morning, then I can fully chill :-))

We actually have a relaxing Christmas coming up.  Just us on Christmas Day then off to Ele's on Boxing Day.  Two days to prepare for six friends coming to us for dinner on 29th. I am determined to have the food all prepared the day before and ready to go in the oven .  

Also looking forward to some festive baking - cranberry and orange shortbread and madeira cakes.  After 29th we have Ele, Kenny, Agnes & Adrian here on Hogmanay then Ele, Kenny and the rest of the family here on New Year's Day so I shall make the most of the relaxing Christmas!

Two sleeps!!! :-)))

Big Elf Door
We met Santa!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.