Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

It's Wednesday and it's walking day

After a few Wednesdays when I did not go walking, I was back with the Intermediates again today.

We set off in rain and it kept on raining until nearly lunchtime. Coffee was taken in a dripping wood. Lunch was by the river and much more pleasant.

Mary sat on a low drystone wall, which promptly crumbled away. Her husband, George, is a builder, and he was not there to rebuild it!

I took a tumble on one of the many slippery slopes. My feet slid and I ended up with my left knee in an over flexed position. As I fell, I remember thinking that I hoped I would not tear the patella tendon. It's a nasty injury.

The fall was enough to leave me shaky and feeling sick, but I soon rallied. I was able to do the rest of the walk with little problem. Thanks to Christine for paracetamol and to Lesley for generally overseeing my care.

I wasn't the only person to fall today. It was amazing that we managed all the difficult stiles too.

The sun came out and we had gorgeous views this afternoon. 

By the time I had driven home, the knee was swollen and upset with itself. I gave it a  lovely hot bath, although I was in grave doubt as to whether I could get in and out again!! Then it was time for an ice pack.


My extra is some beautiful witch hazel outside the old chapel in Slaggyford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.