Office décor

I vacated my office on campus at the end of September when I retired. I loved room C61. It was mine, and mine alone - and much cosier than the study at home that I share with Mr hazelh (although it has to be said that the latter has been much warmer since we upgraded our central heating a couple of weeks ago).

Until last week, I couldn't face going through the personal belongings that I packed on campus to bring home on 18th September 2022. Now, however, I can proudly say that I have finished the job. I have even managed to get rid of some items, mainly by adding them to the charity shop pile or popping them into the recycling. There is no chance that my house is going to end up like that of my mother, crammed with random ephemera that nobody has ever had the heart to give away.

In my blip are most* of the items that graced my office wall. The majority have now been condemned to the paper and card recycling box. Included in the blip are the Smiths poster that has hung in every office that I have ever occupied in Edinburgh (to be rehoused in my shed), a poster to advertise my not-so-little sister's band's single, a postcard from my PhD students at a conference in Zadar, Ben Goldacre on a magazine cover to tie in with a conference that I organised in 2012, an academic portrait of me painted by Daddy hazelh, a place name card for me for an international conference in St Louis for which I was papers co-chair in 2015, a postcard of a dodo that I picked up in Mauritius in 2003 and later had signed by Jasper Fforde, and photos of Paddy and his sister Ailish when they were teenagers.

Apart from a run at lunchtime, I have devoted my day to completing my study sort-out. Mr hazelh has worked on the asset register that we created when undertaking the audit at my mother's house earlier this week.

Meanwhile Paddy and Caitlin completed an ultramarathon, running 36 miles from Alnwick to Bamburgh.

*There were also some pictures and framed certificates. I have kept these.

Exercise today: 7k run.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.