carliewired

By carliewired

88 F/31 C

My old truck rumbles
over the potholes and bumps
along the gravel

~carliewired

Yesterday I licensed my old pick up truck for the summer, so this morning I thought I should take it on a longer drive. It has just been sitting since December. I had myself out the door by 6:15. I crossed the Halston Bridge to the Yellowhead Highway, then drove east on the #1 to cross the river again to the Shuswap Road. I turned west at the end of the bridge so the sun would be at my back while I travelled towards the city. 

I stopped midway on the bridge over the South Thompson River. I got a shot of my mountains from their east side. I looked into the river to a few ducks fishing near the creek. 

There are some lovely homes along this stretch. Many have docks so they can access the river. 

There is a sign posted warning of a mad tractor driver in the area. I hope that someone will be able to contain this person. 

I found an osprey occupying the platform where I would often find an eagle. I don't know if either is nesting there. 

I stopped to get a shot of the silt bluffs. I love the way the light plays in the canyons and gulleys. 

My last shots were the replica paddlewheeler, the Wanda Sue and a healthy crop of dandelions, now in seed.

Shuswap Road is in poor condition. I believe it was scheduled for repair this year. Not any too soon as a woman died here last week. Her motorcycle hit a pothole which threw her off onto the road. 

I picked up my breakfast and coffee on the way home. I'm in for the day now. It is a glorious morning and has the prospect of a hot day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.