Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Quilt storage!

Yesterday, Hildasrose asked what I did with all the quilts.  The answer is - many of them are hanging over the bannisters.  I don't really know what to do with them.  Some are intended as wall hangings, one came in useful recently when I was a bit chilly.  The latest is now fully sashed (you can see it on the nearest bannister), but I still want to add a top border, and then it needs binding.  It's big enough to cover a double bed, so will probably be used decoratively in the spare bedroom.

I do seem to have been churning out a lot of quilts over the last 6 months, but it's important to realise that much of the piecing of the fronts (technical name for the unquilted front is the flimsy, apparently) had been done over the previous 18-24 months.  I've just been finishing off the many unfinished projects.  There have been a few completed (see extra), and donated (see extra), projects in between.

W is hoping that production will slow down now.  I follow a few quilting Facebook groups, and some of the people posting on there seem to have cupboards full of completed quilts!  Many of the quilts I see featured are constructed from multiple blocks of the same pattern, but with great use of colour.  For me, the enjoyment is in the challenge of making new blocks, so my preference is to make sampler quilts with many different blocks. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.