ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Spikey

This afternoon, after a reasonable day of work (which allowed time for a peloton workout), I went to the Port with Cl and L (L driving) to swim. It was sunnier a year ago, and we managed a longer swim on that day. Indeed, it was quite the swim. It was grey and cold today, and the water was around 6 degrees. A trifle colder than yesterday. I managed to take only one of my swim socks, so I debuted a new style by swimming with just one on. Actually, the uncovered foot didn't really get any colder than the covered one.

Last night I finally finished my book. It's taken me a whole month to read it, but my excuse is that I was forcibly separated from it for a week when we were evacuated from the flat, plus the events of that night did nothing for my concentration in terms of capacity to read (serious) (or indeed any) books. I'm now eager to get on with the next piece of my Easter reading, which I've actually had a little longer. Hopefully that will go more smoothly.

I've blipped some of my cacti before. I'm increasingly of the opinion that more or less the only successful houseplants for this place are going to be cacti and succulents. Everything else finds it too cold in midwinter when we aren't here, although the ferns have overwintered twice, although they have to start from scratch each spring. That said, I am prepared to keep buying a few plants from the local garden centre each year even if they don't survive as while it's not desperately green to have one season houseplants, it's still better than cut flowers. Anyway, this is one of my growing collection of succulents (or at least I think this is a succulent, not a cactus....).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.