Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Yellow Flag

or  Yellow Iris, Iris pseudacorus

..found in the reserve this morning.  A lone specimen and the first I've seen this year - in fact it is very early and I would have felt privileged to see it so soon, if I didn't fear this is yet another small symptom of climate change.  Every petal edge is laced with rows of tiny water droplets, but whether from rain or simply very damp air, I just don't know.  Sadly you can only see them in Large.

I also saw a couple of reed buntings playing about by the pond.  Lovely little birds and great fun to watch - and though the shot wasn't up to much I've put one in Extras because that little bright eye peeping at me through the reeds did amuse.

Okay, now I'm off to look at all the entries for WFW24_01.  If I have time I'll add the results in here later, but more likely they will be in my journal tomorrow.  Thanks to everyone who entered!

Thanks also for all the caption suggestions to go with yesterday's pigeons.  Hugely enjoyable!  I'll have to be dividing that Mars Bar something like 48 ways  ;-D

Enjoy your evening  xx

WFW24_01 - RESULTS
Firstly, a big thank you for all your entries - so many and such high quality!  I'm thrilled and you should be too ;))
HEARTS this week go (in no particular order) to:
PeteWPics
gillyh
Energia
Lesmark
cazzfoto

and HONORABLE MENTIONS TO:
Ted3
SeriousFrolic
SpringLilly
Tweedy
JudyD
bennyrochwerger

Among the above Hon Mentions I'm delighted to give a special nod to Ted3 not only for the quality of his images but also for their number.  Also to SeriousFrolic for our first ever wildflower from Australia and bennyrochwerger, ditto from Israel.

And of course my thanks to you all x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.