Tall Ships

I thought about 3 different blippers today. First...Skip beat me to the punch. The tall ships came to Cleveland last week. 2. Musings spends a lot of the summer on a boat of some sort. 3. And...Tookie. I saw a boat named Hooligans Holiday. (That's what she calls her dogs.)

My Dad and I went up to Bay City, Mi, to see the arrival of the tall ships. They were supposed to muster out in the Saginaw Bay... and about 12:30 p.m...enter the Saginaw River. Evidently, they mustard so long they couldn't ketchup. 2 p.m., still no ships.

Finally, 2 came in, then 3 more, then 3 more.

The ship tours don't start until tomorrow. BUT...I WANTED TO SEE THEIR INNARDS...THEIR GUTS... TODAY!!!

I handed my camera bag to my Dad, stripped down to my shorts, and dove in. As Martin Short used to say in an SNL skit..."I am not a strong swimmer", but I eventually made it to the ship.

One thing I've learned on the Florida fish docks...you have to ask to board a boat.

From the water I screamed..."CAPTAIN...PERMISSION TO BOARD...PLEASE?"

From the ship, a voice came back..."I AM NOT A CAPTAIN...I AM A COMMODORE!!! PERMISSION DENIED!"

I ask you...How was I supposed to know?

At least I did get a ride on a boat. The Coast Guard yanked me out of the river, and deposited me roughly back on the shore. Like a pirate with scurvy...like a sea dog with the mange...like a sea hag who has worn out her welcome.

This ship, the Lynx, was not the biggest ship, but it was pretty. I put a dozen other shot on my FLICKR PAGE. Some more of the ships, and the sea gull that is posing in this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.