Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

North east icon

Today I left home shortly after 0730 to travel to Seahouses on the north Northumberland coast in time for the 0930 boat to Inner Farne and Staple Island. I booked the all day trip with 2 hours on each island.

It's a busy time for the birds who are nearly all feeding young. The puffin chicks are still in their burrows and the adults are flying at great speed to and fro to collect sand eels for them. On Inner Farne there are fewer puffins but hundreds of terns. Today there were twitchers too. They were trying to see a rare Indian bridled tern amongst all the other terns there!!

I wanted to take the iconic photo of a puffin with a mouthful of sand eels and I succeeded. I took hundreds of photos so it will take time to sort and discard and edit, but this one immediately caught my eye.

It seemed a much longer drive home than going there, but I'm safely back and an early night is called for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.