Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Warm, wet and wild

It's Wednesday, so what better way to spend the day than walking with the Haltwhistle Walkers. At 8 o'clock it was still tipping it down with rain so it did not look promising. However, I had decided that: I needed the fresh air and exercise; I wanted to support the person leading the walk; I wanted to see my friends. By the time the walk started at 1030 it was fine and sunny.

We walked out of Haydon Bridge and, in stages, made our way uphill to the south of the village. It was very autumnal and we had acorns showering on us and trod on conkers and loads of fallen leaves. At times it poured and the wind was quite wild. It was very mild and we enjoyed the lovely views and the frequent, if transitory, rainbows.

Here you can see the South Tyne, running west to east to meet the North Tyne at Warden which is north of Hexham.

Tonight we were at Hamlet (again). This one was the RSC production in Newcastle. We found this chaotic and bitty. The acting was inconsistent and I just did not understand what the director was trying to achieve. This was in sharp contrast to last nights NT production. A friend tonight was very enthusiastic and a man said it was the best production he had seen in 50 years......... Good job that we don't have to think alike.

Last night I was so late home that my blip became a back blip which you can see now.

Another late night and a late blip - apologies to those of you with earlier bedtimes. I hope you see this tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.