Capital adventures

By marchmont

Home

Not quite sure what time dawn was but it was a beautiful sight. But then it got very warm, hot in fact there being no aircon in the room I had to close the blinds.

As I hadn't managed to get to the Bermondsey Project yesterday to see the Crisis Commission. I lay in bed and thought about going across this morning - and then I did!

And that was such a good decision (despite getting off the #42 too early). The exhibition 'Home' at Bermondsey exhibits works by established artists alongside works by Crisis members, including 5 members from Edinburgh. All of these exhibitors are or have been homeless and Crisis has supported them to move their lives on. There has been excellent coverage in and The List. I have to say it was the best exhibition I have seen this year not only because of the quality of the work but also because it is a tangible demonstration of the work my colleagues and I do.

Then it was back, in the warm sunshine, via a wait for another #42, to the office for yet another quick meeting about policy before hot footing it across to King's Cross.

I don't normally travel up from London during the day and my ticket had been changed from 11 to 1 to fit in Bermondsey which meant I'd lost out on my quiet coach seat. This was a disaster as Coach D was inhabited by a dozen Millwall supporters off on a stag do in Newcastle. The noise was head splitting, the alcohol consumption formidable and the swearing and the chants. Aaaghh! But all the rest of us in the carriage sat very quietly - and endured.

Luckily they got off at Newcastle so the last 90 minutes was peaceful. Aaah.

Now I'm Home and the sun is still shining. My first full weekend at Home for over a month beckons.

Have a good one.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.