... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Covered Market: Brown's Café

More genuine in large ("L").

Brown's Café is the market's "original cafe" (or caff - it is more of a greasy spoon, but a good one, hence the acute accent...). The owners are Portuguese, and they sell proper pasteis de nata as well as the more usual caff fare. It is opposite Cardews, and indeed this sign is visible in the linked blip which was taken less than 5m away from this one. It certainly seems more in keeping with the market's atmosphere than the more modern cafés at the other end; Brothers is my favourite of them (at the left here), but none of them make decent coffee...

I went to collect some prints today for a small photography exhibition that I'm holding in college next week! Exciting times; I'm sure that I'll blip it once it is up and running. My images are being displayed, but the final selection and display decisions were made by members of the college staff; it feels strange not to be totally in control of the finished product, but is also quite a relief.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.