Waiting for Snow

It seems appropriate to blip a snowbird, (dark-eyed junco), today as we are hunkering down for what the weathermen tell us is going to be a “historical,” “catastrophic” blizzard.  That kind of rhetoric has certainly scared everyone to death and the scene at the grocery store this morning was as if we were headed into a sustained nuclear winter. After driving around for quite a while to get a parking space, I could barely get down the aisles because they were so crowded and ultimately I spent 45 minutes in line to check out. What was I thinking when I thought I might pick up a few ingredients to make some chili?

Thanks to all of you who participated in this 2nd anniversary of the Mono-Monday challenge. I am sorry it has taken me so long to post my favorites, but there were over 140 entries and they were all so good and clever that I have had a very difficult time picking favorites.  It is quite a subjective endeavor, but I also try to use some objective criteria and look for nice tonal contrasts, shape, form (providing depth), texture and light….all those things that a good monochrome image. 

My favorites are (in no particular order):

Kit267
JoanneinOz
Miffy
PictureMull
Maisiebeth

Other images that are deserving honorable mention are:

Dcred
JohnRH
Tedwin
dfb24
Wildwood
Kangazu
AJC
Wildmoosechase
Notowennewitt
60Plus
Loisbiz
Weeflecky

Next week’s theme is “Selfie.”  This theme was used in May 2014 by Paladian, and she tells me that it got more views than any other MM theme. This was the theme that everyone loved to hate.   Since there are lots of new people who have joined in, I thought it might be fun to do this one again. If you participated last time, be sure to include a link to your first selfie, and five days notice should give you all plenty of time to work on your disguises! 

MrsLinda, in the Czech Republic, has very graciously volunteered to be the host for February, so Mono-Monday lives on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.