Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In all its glory

I can't resist blipping amaryllis flowers when they are so splendid. They really show off their glory.

This is standing beside a beautiful Dutch watercolour. The artist, Sister Therese, was a nun who my Dad met after the liberation of the Netherlands in a place called Helmond. The troops took food to local people, who were starving. Dad became friendly with a small group of nuns and an author called To Holscher. I have blipped this painting before, here.

It was sunny and calm this morning, after last night's storm. By the time I was dressed to go walking, the weather had changed and I retreated into the house!

Margaret (across the road) came over with her embroidery and for a chat.

Mum hasn't been well today with a horrid cough. This results from the nasal cautery she had last week. The coughing bouts are very unpleasant and make her breathless. That cut Margaret's visit short. I've given her extra inhaler and inhalation of steam. The latter seemed to help. Hopefully another night's sleep will see the cough on its way.

I made roast carrot and ginger soup ready for the walkers tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.