Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Autumn in the Highlands

I had a relatively short drive today, from Crianlarich to Drumnadrochit. If I had been under time pressure, I would have been frustrated by the road works and the resultant tailbacks. As it was, I could just enjoy everything I saw.

I stopped at various viewpoints, including the Commando Memorial near Spean Bridge. See extra. I will remove the cone when I have access to Photoshop!

It was raining in Fort William and I had two pots of tea and a cheese scone in the Old Deli. I had a window seat there.

At Invermoriston, I parked and walked through beautiful woods to see the Falls. The young couple in my image wanted to wait politely while I took the shot. I liked having them in it.

I’m staying at Pormaily House which is a large self catering establishment. My room is enormous. The bed is enormous. I have a lovely view of the grounds.

Various people had very difficult journeys today, mainly with cancelled trains. The majority arrived in time for dinner at The Fiddlers Restaurant. The food was great. The service was slow but there was constant chatter to keep us going. https://www.blipfoto.com/LesleyAlsford was at my table and we told the other two about Blipfoto.

I could hardly keep awake and I’m in bed at a ridiculously early hour! This promises to be an excellent weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.