Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Happy Birthday

10.02.21
Miss L is eleven today! 
I got up early to make sure I was up before the birthday girl and was very touched to find see her teacher putting a card through the door as I came down the stairs. Such a kind thought.
As usual she insisted on opening all the cards first before tearing into the presents. And it's not in case there's money,  she likes to read them!
Pancakes for breakfast while she opened her presents. We didn't tell her about the bike fiasco and she was happy with her pile. Again, thank God I got her more than I had been intending to! 
Then it was time for school. She had asked yesterday if she had to go to school (upstairs for a day of online school) today and I said yes because it would be nice to 'see' her friends on her birthday.
Nana came round later in the morning to wish Miss L a socially distant Happy Birthday from the drive. I haven't seen her since January 3rd so it was lovely. If weird and hideous just to be shouting across the drive. Uncle D came too and it was lovely to see him too. 
The Little Misses loved seeing them. And Miss L particularly loved the enormous jar of Percy Pigs they'd brought with them!
It was a little bit heartbreaking when she got tearful at lunchtime and said she didn't like her birthday because she didn't want to grow up. Miss E seemed to turn into a young woman overnight without batting an eyelid, Miss L is having a harder time. The current crappy situation doesn't help :-(
But it may have been the sugar talking as she perked up and enjoyed the rest of the day!!
I said the other day that she could have whatever she wanted for a birthday dinner and without even pausing she said she'd like Nandos. We've been on her last few birthdays. Annoyingly we can't get a delivery where we live but they do click and collect so I decided to go and get it. It's only nine miles or so to the restaurant but I felt like I was on a road trip!!
Chicken wings and peri peri fries galore for me and the Little Misses, chicken burger for Mr K who thinks chicken wings are the work of the devil!
Ice cream, diet coke and then, just before bed, cake. 
Miss L was giddy that it snowed quite a bit in the morning. She knows it was snowing the day she was born and it makes her birthday feel proper!!
As she gets older I think more about her birth and how different things could so easily have been. The most likely outcome was that she wouldn't be here at all and today would be a very different day. 
But we were lucky and we've had this little one in our lives for eleven years. I love looking back at all the candle photos. It's like going back in time!!

Four
Five 
Five again
Six
Seven
Eight
Nine
Ten

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.