Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Desert BBQ

(Blipped on 5/12/20)

Firstly, apologies to everyone who came back here for the MM358 results. I had a non-stop day from the time I awoke to the time I got to bed. Despite a short night, I had to wake early for a 9 am appointment with Amelia. This was followed by an 11 am appointment with Varinia! Later, I accidentally cut off the internet supply to the flat when I tried to change the ports for two cables on the main box. The fibre-optic cable came apart. Yikes! I've never had that problem before. I called the super-smart technician who came on Monday and he said he would be here by 3, then 4, then 4:15... too late, we had a BBQ booked with friends and had to be at our spot by 4:45 to catch the sun, so - no internet in the house until some time tomorrow.

We had another super evening - as evidenced by the collage. This time we had all the right tools to cope with lighting the fire even with a breeze. It wasn't as cold as two weeks ago, but when the dew came, everything got soaked, so we packed up and went to the Last Exit for a spice tea. We didn't get home until past midnight. No time or energy to sort things out, I was straight on my laptop to finish going through the last 25 Mono Monday entries. Thank God for mobile hotspots! :))

I finished by 2 am but didn't have the energy to go through my own pictures to start a blip, so gave up then. Another very late night for me. :(

So, without any further ado, here are my choices for the Mono Monday challenge on the theme of Shape and Form in Landscapes - Light.

I have to say, there were some incredible entries and I have found it really hard to narrow things down. By mistake, I gave RockArea a heart as soon as I saw the picture, so figured I might be able to award six hearts, but that became seven and now, I have chosen ten entries for hearts (three of them will be awarded asap).

So, hearts to (in no particular order)
- RockArea for Island; you know when you want to award a heart the moment you see a picture, that it's something special. This is confirmed by five others!
- isbi - Farm landscape  30th November seemed to be a dull weather day for many people including me. isbi's picture is what I imagined when I read the theme.
- Marlieske - Light at the end of the tunnel Just stunning
- Pisky29 - Beam me up
- john39 - Leaves  It's not a landscape, but a brilliant image nonetheless
- inverculain - Bridge
- Trisharooni for War Memorial
- SquirrelsEtc - Squirrel  The internet loves cats, dogs and . . . squirrels!
- BoHingles - Light as a feather  I love the pun here
- Mambo - Glimmer of light

I have ten Notable Mentions too - this time in alphabetical order...
Carolinav - Garden (Carolinav is also the host for December)
DonnaWanna - Shadows and light
evolvybab - Durham
Freyjad - Robin
laurie54 - Scottish Rite Cathedral
lisabet - Leaf
Naturelover - Bird
Nettinoo - London
ninniex - Light on the water
suejay50 - Pastoral scene

That's it! Thank you to everyone who took part - there were over 100 images to look at. As mentioned above, carolinav is hosting Mono Monday for December. The topics are mentioned in the same journal entry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.