Here we go again. – Day 4

Winton Park
The area behind me is Winton Park. It's basically just a strip of grass in front of some houses so not exactly the most exciting place in the world for a little collie like me to have a play. Today I couldn't even see the grass because it had snowed overnight. Anyway, that's our 'A-Z of Edinburgh Parks Project' finished because we can't think of any parks that start with X, Y or Z.  .................Need a new project now.

Our walk to Winton Park and back was about 8 miles long and took more than three hours. We went there via Braidburn Valley and Fairmilehead Park and came home via Mortonhall, Braid Hills Golf Course and the Hermitage. (Lots more interesting pics on our FB page but as we set out to photograph Winton Park; that's why today's BLIP isn't that exciting. Lol!) It was snowy for the whole walk. I LOVE the snow.

However, today I was naughtier than I've ever been in my whole entire life.......................... Do you want to know what I did?..........................

Braid Hills is covered with gorse bushes. Often I'll run into the gorse bushes when I'm out on my walks because I know that's where the bunnies live. But, I always come out pretty much straight away. My recall is usually good unless I'm chasing squirrels/bunnies. Anyway, a couple of times I went into the gorse bushes and didn't come out as soon as I was called. Ann knows that she's a paranoid collie pup owner she always likes to know where I am so she decided to give me the benefit of the doubt. I definitely do a lot more 'sniffing' in snowy weather.

Wrong move................ In retrospect she should have put me back on my lead. ........She didn't, .............so when we got to the next cluster of gorse bushes I went zooming off again. And this time I didn't come back. OMG?! ..........Ann thought she had lost me forever. She was shouting and shouting for me to come back to her and because we were up above the valley where the Hermitage is, her voice was echo-ing all over the place. Ann's pretty sure that I would have been able to hear her, but I didn't come racing back like I normally do. Three or four lots of people shouted back to Ann that they'd keep a look out for me.

Ann was convinced that she'd lost me forever. She was so, so upset. She didn't know what to do. It was really, really cold and she started to worry that I'd hurt myself and was lying injured in the middle of the gorse bushes and would die of hypothermia. Or that someone had thrown poisoned food into the gorse bushes and I wasn't coming back because I was eating it. Or I'd come out of the gorse bushes but was disorientated and couldn't remember where I'd left Ann.

Sometimes Ann is a bit of a 'Drama Queen'...................... Anyway I eventually re-appeared out of the gorse bushes, half way down the hill. Ann was so happy. …...........Until I looked at her, registered that she'd seen me............ and then ran straight back into the gorse bushes again.............

Ann ran half way down the hill, which wasn't a path, just big turfs of grass covered in snow so she fell over twice, but by then she didn't know where I was, because I was in the middle of all the gorse bushes. ......After the second time that she fell over, she just sat there and cried and shouted, 'Trixie come'. And do you know what happened? ....................... I came!

I appeared out of the gorse bushes and just lay down beside Ann. And she stroked me and told me I was the bestest little collie pup in the world and that she loved me.

And this whole incident probably didn't last any more than 5 mins?! Though at the time it felt like 5 hours…................Told you Ann was a 'Drama Queen'.

PHEW!!!!

Abercorn Park
Buckstone Park
Campbell Park
Dovecot Park
Easter Drylaw Park
Fairmilehead Park
Gyle Park
Hailes Quarry Park
Inverleith Park
Joppa Quarry Park
King George V Park
Lochend Park
Morningside Park
Nicholson Square Park
Orchard Park
Pilrig Park
Queens Park
Redhall Park
Starbank Park
Taylor Park
Union Park
Victoria Park

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.