Looking for Nines

To mark my ninth blipday. Not a complete success as the weather got wetter as I wandered about Portobello. A couple of signs and the shop at 99 Portobello Hight Street that is now a hairdressers but used to be an ice cream shop that is said to be the original home of the '99' cone. Went to the Figgate Park where there was a bit of footpath promotion for a race in September - the ninth month. But nothing really stood out. When I got home L said I could do a portrait-that-isn't-a-portrait of her with one of her guitars, so got her to play with a bridge on the ninth fret, which wasn't bad.

Another year on Blipfoto and time to look back.
A year ago I took a relaxed portrait of a friend on Leith Links.
In August the campaign for a community greengrocer had a stall at the Market. And there was a 'splashmob' on the Prom. (Another picture I took that morning made its way onto the front page of the Times.)
I photographed the Lord Provost, a jeweller friend and L and a friend at the Book Festival.
Sometimes blips are tiny things.
August was a month for music blips, with the Big Beach Busk on the Prom, and promo shots for a band.
September started with the Art Walk and a Shelter event. Took some interesting portraits and a wedding on my birthday. For our wedding anniversary we went to the pictures.
In October I celebrated 3000 blips and caught up with friends, did some press work and celebrated my Dad's 80th with him and his brother and met Will Young.
I seem to have covered a fair number of conferences in the past year and especially like the social events. It's good to photograph some of the people who make the events happen.
I worked for the RSCDS a couple of times, including their AGM in Perth in November. We went to The Lakes for a few days, and got started on our NaNoWriMo projects. Photographed a grand awards dinner at the Sheraton. And we finished our NaNoWriMo challenges!
In December I photographed another blipper and some beautiful birds. Worked at a party at the Balmoral and L played music with an old friend. And finished off the year by reviving a tradition.
The New Year started with another tradition and I met a friend who more recently got her UK citizenship. I took something from my archives to commemorate a great figure of the Left and L's band played in a Leith institution.
The last year seems to have been L's year of guitars. And they demolished a place with lots of personal memories. We visited the Ferry in February and Action Porty had their AGM. We also had a few days in Oban.
A photographer friend was missed. Shells washed up on the beach. I gathered a group of provosts - I wonder what the collective noun is?
Saw off a cyclist who was riding to London and met another friend at her exhibition opening.
Met another blipper for a blipsnap and some friends for a meal.
My godfather passed away.
I took some publicity pictures and had a small exhibition of my own.
I helped a Kickstarter and L's duo did a gig in a cafe.
An old friend is looking a bit the worse for wear.
And there was lots of cake.
My friend came to visit and I photographed a rehearsal.
L and G did several gigs.
Fun with some students and an inspirational person.
A trip to Killin and a photography course.
I photographed my old boss and heard about the internet of kettles.
Students dancing, a trip to Newcastle, another acting showcase and team building go-karts.
Grounds for optimism at the football and just this week a conference about the Enlightenment.

It's been a busy year.

As always thanks to everyone who makes Blipfoto special - friends new and old and the fab four and everyone else that keeps it all running smoothly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.