The life & times of Jacks

By Jacqueline

2015 - All Good Things Must....

2015 has been a landmark year for me.  I got married to my best friend, Steve and we were lucky enough for our dear friends and family to join us in celebration.  A lot of energy was spent on the planning and run up to that event that my Hogmanay blip marking the events of the year are very likely to cover off much of weddingness!  You have been warned!

It started with New Year's day dinner at my Auntie Marie's House after which I spent the first day of the new year rather poorly - please note this was NOT due to overindulgence but a nasty stomach bug.

We went Wassailling again with Paul and Ali - Kirsten and her friend also joined us.  Love a good Wassail!

I explored the art of baking Sourdough bread which I really need to try again this year.

I went to Scotland for the weekend to get the girls measured for their bridesmaid dresses and then also spent some time with Niamh.

We shopped for Wedding Stationery - not the most fun we have ever had!

I finally managed to get inside Royal Albert Hall when Steve surprised me with tickets to Cirque de Soleil - amazing!

We went to the theatre to see The Ruling Class with James McAvoy and it was phenomenal - what an actor!

My best friend and bridesmaid, Nic, got married and I was her bridesmaid on a  beautiful April day in Perthshire.

We found Rum Punch in London thanks to Paul and Ali and then the 4 of us proceeded to drink a little too much of it - but it tastes just like Juice!!!

My parents came down to visit to meet Steve's mum for the first time and also for my mum to be with me when I tried my wedding dress on for the first time - exciting May!

We took a weekend trip in May back up to Scotland and just made the plane while I navigated a very jet lagged Steve through Luton airport.  We both enjoyed the wedding food tasting and also spending some time on the Ayrshire coast.

Then we can't forget all the cuddle time with these two beauties.

We saw Deathcab for Cutie!!!!! and it was an awesome gig!

I ran my first ever (and possibly my last...) 10k run on the ladies nike 10k raising money for a women's charity in London.

My sister and I went to Leeds for my hen night - fab friends and we had a good time although I was a bit of a stress head hoping everyone had a good time.

I finally chose a car for my commute which isn't as well served by public transport and therefore necessitated this beauty.

Steve had his stag do and his best man bought badges for that stag group and this one in the link for Steve - he wasn't quite ready...yet....

And the big day finally arrived.  Steve and I enjoyed the Photobooth!!  Our photographer for the big day was also a fellow Blipper and he also posted a blip About the Big Day.

Our honeymoon period was just awesome and we started in London climbing The O2 which was a gift experience I got for Steve for Valentine's day.

We then headed to South Africa for the holiday of a lifetime - it was an amazing amazing trip and we completely fell in love with this country.

The time after returning from honeymoon did get very samey - one thing we did was book some tickets to a pop up bar Breaking Bad themed where you got to "cook" your own cocktails - we almost didn't go but are, to this day, very pleased we motivated our asses out the door.

The Colvilles then came to visit to celebrate Aidan's 7th Birthday - we went to see Matilda in the West end, we ate at Bubba Gumps and then went bowling and finally had food in chiquitos before they headed home.  Jo and I may have had one wee fight while she was here but then, what is a wee fight between two sisters other than expected??

Steve took me away to Oxfordshire for a night away early December which was nice and we had a lovely time.

The final milestone for us this year was my mum's shop finally selling.  Having grown up in This Place it was somewhat bittersweet - sweet as it is the right thing for my aunt and mum and bitter as it was saying goodbye to a large feature from my childhood.

And that was my roundup of 2015.  I spent the last day of the year taking a long walk along the Grand Union Canal, feeding the ducks and geese and enjoying some nice weather.

Not sure if we will see the end of 2016 on here.  Happy New Year to you all and I hope you have a good time celebrating with your family and loved ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.